Nicky, during his stint with Dynamo. (Photo credit: Fedor Uspensky / Sport-Express)

Nicklas Backstrom’s name will appear on the Gagarin Cup after all, KHL champions Dynamo Moscow announced Tuesday. Originally, the team decided not to engrave names of the players who played fewer than 26 games or weren’t with the team at the end of the regular season. Backstrom scored 25 points in 19 KHL games before flying back to Washington when the lockout ended.

Just like any other Russian matter, the organization has changed its mind after one Dynamo fan site posted an open letter to the club looking for more clarity. “It is unclear to us why the names of some players are absent on the prestigious trophy,” authors Artem Dorozhkin (Dynamo’s former PR guy) and Maxim Shcherbinin wrote. “We’re asking you to tell us the reason why certain players were left off the list the club submitted to the KHL. It will help avoid useless rumors among Dynamo Moscow fans.”

From the official release:

The Dynamo Hockey Club is announcing that it has received permission to revise the list of names of the champions of the last season that are engraved on the Gagarin Cup from the Kontinental Hockey League.

The absence of Alexander Shibaev, Denis Tolpeko, Igor Schadilov, Nikita Lukin, Nicklas Backstrom, and Alexander Boykov on the list have drawn a wide response among our fans.

Now this unfairness will be resolved and the new, revised list of champions of 2012-13 season will appear on the Gagarin Cup shortly.

Comments are closed.