Here’s Your 2013-2014 Washington Capitals Schedule

Calendario Azteca tallado en piedra (Aztec Carved Calendar Stone)

The Southeast Division is no more. Starting in October, the Washington Capitals will be competing in a value-sized version of the Patrick Division from days gone by– now known as The Metropolitan Division. It’ll be a tough going, but at least now we’ve got specifics. The NHL has finally released the upcoming season schedule, and we’ve got your breakdown right here.

Uh…

Well, there’s 82 games.

Um.

Some of them are on the road. Some of them are at home. About 50/50, I suppose.

More summertime analysis behind the jump, plus the whole dang sched.

First game: Oct 1 at the Chicago Blackhawks

First home game: Oct 3 vs the Calgary Flames

Last game: Apr 13 vs Tampa Bay

Longest road trips: Oct 22 – Nov 1 and Jan 24-31 (both are 5 games long)

Longest home stand: Oct 11- 19, five games long

Olympic break: Feb 9 – Feb 27

Whoa this looks tough: Pretty much everything. 17 back-to-back pairs.

Is party now: Late October through early November is filled with scrub teams like the Dirty ‘Peg, the Flames, and the Panthers.

Boose: We’ll be seeing former head coach Bruce Boudreau in person for the first time since 2011 on December 23rd at home. Expect chaos.

You can download the schedule as a PDF, but I really recommend putting the whole thing directly in your calendar.

OCTOBER
Tue, Oct. 1 at Chicago 8 p.m.
Thu, Oct. 3 Calgary 7 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 5 at Dallas 8 p.m.
Thu, Oct. 10 Carolina 7 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 12 Colorado 7 p.m.
Mon, Oct. 14 Edmonton 7 p.m.
Wed, Oct. 16 N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 19 Columbus 7 p.m.
Tue, Oct. 22 at Winnipeg 8 p.m.
Thu, Oct. 24 at Edmonton 9:30 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 26 at Calgary 10 p.m.
Mon, Oct. 28 at Vancouver 10 p.m.

NOVEMBER
Fri, Nov. 1 at Philadelphia 7 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 2 Florida 7 p.m.
Tue, Nov. 5 N.Y. Islanders 7 p.m.
Thu, Nov. 7 Minnesota 7 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 9 at Phoenix 8 p.m.
Sun, Nov. 10 at Colorado 8 p.m.
Tue, Nov. 12 Columbus 7 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 15 at Detroit 7:30 p.m.
Sun, Nov. 17 St. Louis 6 p.m.
Wed, Nov. 20 Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 22 Montreal 7 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 23 at Toronto 7 p.m.
Wed, Nov. 27 Ottawa 7 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 29 Montreal 5 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 30 at N.Y. Islanders 7 p.m.

DECEMBER
Tue, Dec. 3 Carolina 7 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 7 Nashville 7 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 8 at N.Y. Rangers 7 p.m.
Tue, Dec. 10 Tampa Bay 7 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 13 at Florida 7:30 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 15 Philadelphia 3 p.m.
Tue, Dec. 17 at Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 20 at Carolina 7 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 21 New Jersey 7 p.m.
Mon, Dec. 23 Anaheim 7 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 27 N.Y. Rangers 7 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 29 at Buffalo 5 p.m.
Mon, Dec. 30 at Ottawa 7:30 p.m.

JANUARY
Thu, Jan. 2 Carolina 7 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 4 at Minnesota 8 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 9 at Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
Fri, Jan. 10 Toronto 7 p.m.
Sun, Jan. 12 Buffalo 3 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 14 San Jose 7 p.m.
Wed, Jan. 15 at Pittsburgh 8 p.m.
Fri, Jan. 17 at Columbus 7 p.m.
Sun, Jan. 19 at N.Y. Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 21 Ottawa 7 p.m.
Fri, Jan. 24 at New Jersey 7 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 25 at Montreal 7 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 28 at Buffalo 7:30 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 30 at Columbus 7 p.m.
Fri, Jan. 31 at Detroit 7:30 p.m.

FEBRUARY
Sun, Feb. 2 Detroit 12:30 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 4 N.Y. Islanders 7:30 p.m.
Thu, Feb. 6 Winnipeg 7 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 8 New Jersey 7 p.m.
Thu, Feb. 27 at Florida 7:30 p.m.

MARCH
Sat, March 1 at Boston 1 p.m.
Sun, March 2 Philadelphia 12:30 p.m.
Wed, March 5 at Philadelphia 8 p.m.
Thu, March 6 at Boston 7 p.m.
Sat, March 8 Phoenix 7 p.m.
Mon, March 10 Pittsburgh 7 p.m.
Tue, March 11 at Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Fri, March 14 Vancouver 7 p.m.
Sun, March 16 Toronto 3 p.m.
Tue, March 18 at Anaheim 10 p.m.
Thu, March 20 at Los Angeles 10:30 p.m.
Sat, March 22 at San Jose 10:30 p.m.
Tue, March 25 Los Angeles 7 p.m.
Sat, March 29 Boston 12:30 p.m.
Sun, March 30 at Nashville 8 p.m.

APRIL
Tue, April 1 Dallas 7 p.m.
Fri, April 4 at New Jersey 7 p.m.
Sat, April 5 at N.Y. Islanders 5 p.m.
Tue, April 8 at St. Louis 8 p.m.
Thu, April 10 at Carolina 7 p.m.
Fri, April 11 Chicago 7 p.m.
Sun, April 13 Tampa Bay 3 p.m.

No related posts.

Tagged with:
 
  • Shehryar Shaukat

    What should we do for the return of Varly?

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    watch our preferred hockey team score goals on him

  • http://twitter.com/kat326 Rachel Cohen

    ………….

    (also applies to when Hendy comes back to town)

  • Derek Eklund

    I had my money on the CA-CHING! Division

  • Shehryar Shaukat

    sure…but not tooo many. I still have a soft spot for him

  • Mac Johnson

    No opponents listed in the iCal download? Only game dates and times? Is not party…

  • http://brdweb.com/ Jason Mitchell

    God what a stupid division name……

  • Shehryar Shaukat

    also applies to game 7 vs rangers 2013…too soon?

  • Shehryar Shaukat

    is it actually called the Metropolitan division?

  • Shehryar Shaukat

    it actually is. wow

  • Catherine__M

    Man is it weird seeing all those Western Conference teams again! Or did I just get too familiar with the lockout schedule?

  • Rhino40

    OK, Peter…

    Metropolitan Division“, eh? That sure is a mouthful. And, to tell the truth, it’s kinda cheesy.
    But then again:

    1) What else could we possibly have expected from the diabolical lawyer (wait, isn’t that a redundancy of terms, like “greedy miser” or “stupid idiot”?) mind of Gary Bettman?
    2) I suppose we should at least be thankful that they didn’t actually decide to call it the “Jagr Division”, after all…

    Anyhoo, I now turn my attention to the Aztec calendar motif you have so cleverly selected for today’s posting…

    …but what does it really mean, Peter??? My money’s on one of these:

    • “We don’t need to worry about making the playoffs because the world will end on December 21 anyway …bwahahahaha!!!!!))))))

    • “if the Caps win at home and score scoar 5 or more goals, everyone gets free tacos

    • “2nd-intermissions at home games will feature a real, live, human sacrif-ice” (Sorry, but I just had to…as you can see, this hockeyless time is hard on my sanity…such as it is)

    Thank you for the valuable public service you have rendered

    Resepct,
    Das Rhino

  • Owen Johnson

    It applies to being a Caps fan in general.

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    Bettman. What’re ya gonna do?

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    shoot really? I already downloaded it and merged it. ugh that’s gonna SUCK to fix.

    p.s. next year I bet we can totally figure out what the sched is ahead of time by doing some URL guessing.

    http://capitals.nhl.com/v2/ext/sched/201415CapsSchedule.ics or something

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    haha

    you win in content and text formatting again

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    It’s really weird. I don’t like it.

  • Rhino40

    It’s not about “win” or “lose”, Bro.
    You have made me laugh (many, many, many times)…
    and I simply (try to ) return the favor whenever the opportunity presents itself…

  • FStreetFaithful

    Worst part of the back-to-backs is there aren’t any home back-to-backs.

  • chuchutrainLA

    The Bettman Division

  • yv

    Amtrak/Greyhound division could be better?!?

    What a tough schedule. 3 months, Nov, Jan, Mar, of 15 games. Couple home&home games with Flyers, and back-to-back, home and home games on March with Pens with whom only 4 (not 5) games, victim of uneven schedule.
    First game in Chicago probably would be good motivation for Caps for the season, but GMGM, we definitely need roster improvement to go through and if you want to see playoffs.

  • R.O’B.

    wait theres hockey in December….even November OMG OCTOBER!!! YAY

  • Graham Dumas

    There’s one letter in that guy’s name I’d replace… Too obvious?

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    I seriously thought the ACELA Division coulda happened

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    … buttman?

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    welp deleted 82 events manually

    yey

  • Graham Dumas

    Oh, well, yeah, there’s that. I was going for the Ukrainian Hettman, meaning head of a cossack group. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hetman

    But Buttman works, too.

  • http://www.russianmachineneverbreaks.com/ Peter Hassett

    haha OBSCURE

  • beavermuffin

    They should’ve had a naming contest. The new names simply sucks. Come on, Metrolplitan Division. That’s just cheesy in my opinion

  • Graham Dumas

    That’s why I get all the girls…

  • Dominic

    BUTTMAN- AAAaaaaAAAAHHHHHHH. MASTER OF THE FEHRMAN-AAAAAaaaaAAAAHHHHH

  • Dominic

    I for one would much rather play in the Merry, Pippin, Frodo and Sam divisions. Either/or is fine. But I did just say the word “bitchin” out loud because I saw we play the lightning at home on my birthday- BRING ME STUBHUB, AND BE QUICK ABOUT IT.

  • Rhino40

    That’s the crux of the problem, my friend: As with every other
    significant thing the NHL does, I really don’t think
    they Bettman ever even thought for one instant about
    actually asking anyone (other than
    other hockey-impaired lawyer types) beforehand.

    To paraphrase Sinatra, Bettman just went ahead and did it His Way.

  • Rhino40

    Well done Rachel! IMO: we show that we are the classiest team in the league with polite applause for distinguished former players & coaches. The boos (and other forms of intense verbal abuse) are for Pittsburgh.

  • http://twitter.com/kat326 Rachel Cohen

    Haha, all the credit for the image goes to blehblehyeah.tumblr.com (they made one for every team). I just found it!

  • THEOLDROT

    No playoffs for the Caps this season. They can be expected to finiah no higher than 14th in the Metropolitan Division. Ovi, Nicky, and Mikey will be happy to get to the course early in 2014. (BTW, Russia will finish out of medal contention at Sochi.)

  • CDizz

    “Hey guys, remember how we had Four respected divisions once? The Adams, Patrick, Smythe, and Norris? Yeah, let’s scrap that and make terrible choices.”
    -Gary Bettman

  • RESmith

    Ok, so the old Northeast Division is now the Atlantic and the old Atlantic division is now the Metropolitan?! I’m so confused!!

  • poodlewoof

    Looks like my comment got stuck in the tubes… For google gmail/calendar users, you can add the Caps games (with opponents) directly to your calendar. In calendar.google.com, left nav, “Other Calendars” > “Browse Interesting Calendars” > “Sports” > “NHL” … etc. “Subscribe” You can also sync this with your iCal/iphone calendar which will just overlay these events as another calendar with reminders, etc. Next season, they will just show up, so nothing to repeat year over year.

  • Dark Stranger

    Agreed! If they were going to keep the Atlantic Division name, our new division should have been the ones to keep that name, and not give it to a totally different division where there is zero overlap of teams. Metropolitan Division sounds like way too parochial a name. Might apply to NY City are thereabouts but not outside that area. But there was the problem of what to do with the Northeast when the Florida teams were added. Some fans would call it the Flortheast. (Makes more sense than Atlantic for that group of teams.) With a geographic alignment of teams, they could have just aligned them in a North and South arrangement, except it would have resulted placing the NJ Devils in the South and the NY teams in the North.

  • Owen Johnson

    14th? Man that’s awful, considering there are only 8 teams in the division.

  • jennrubenstein

    bless you. i don’t know what is wrong with me that it didn’t occur to me to look there… the nats have the google calendar url readily available to plug in, so when there wasn’t a google option on the caps schedule page my brain must have just shut down. you win my many thanks and slight increase in sanity.